September 24, 2014
Stephanie Allen

no comments

Apple Weekend

 

Steph making pie

It’s ‘apple time of year!’ At my house, that means ‘Apple Weekend.’ While the kids were growing up we always had apple trees in our backyard. They’d help pick the fruit and then we’d have a weekend cook-out putting up our fruit. We made apple sauce, apple pie, and apple crisp. The weekend would always include a homemade pot of soup too.

I’ve never used a recipe because apples vary so much in sweetness and water content.  It’s my cooking theory, “you’ve just got to taste it!”

apple pie

My Must-have Supplies:

Apple-peeler-corer-slicer (This makes peeling and slicing quick and easy)

Zip Lock Freezer Bags, gallon size

A big, heavy stock pot

toddlers_basket_applesPie Tips:

Adding lemon zest to pies makes them extra delicious.

Use Pillsbury Pie crust and pour the filling right in. Then freeze as many pies as you have room to store.

Applesauce Tips:

Add to the apples, white sugar, cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, ginger, a pinch of salt, lemon juice, and water. Cook down on the stove top until tender. I like my applesauce a little chunky so I stir it while cooking instead of mashing it.

Nowadays, my apple weekends are not as crazy. I do a smaller volume. I love how the house fills with the sweet aroma of cooked apples and warms my heart and home.

You can create this family experience with your kids even if you don’t have apple trees. Look up local orchards in your area where you can pick your own fruit or call a local fruit stand to see if they have any fresh picked apples you can buy.

Apple Pie Day with my family!

Apple Weekend is a sweet tradition. I hope you’ll try it!

There are so many variations on pie recipes; here are a few to try:

Perfect Apple Pie

Pie with lemon zest

Washington Apples Website

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

